$50,000 Awarded to Outstanding Advisors


Advising students at UL Lafayette paid off for 55 faculty members. Each was recognized recently as 2005 Outstanding Faculty Advisors.

" Advisors are an integral part of the academic process. They work with students and tell them what actions to take to improve their work," said UL Lafayette President Ray Authement. "For the first time in the history of the university, we are honoring them monetarily for this."

To be eligible, advisors must have had a minimum of 20 advisees or removed at least 20 advising holds in Fall 2005 and must have attended at least one advising symposium or conference in 2005.

Authement presented awards to two groups:

• 45 faculty members with three or more years of advising experience received $1,000 each; and

• 10 new faculty advisors with less than three years advising experience received $500 each.

The Advising Awards Selection Committee made the selections based on several criteria including: assessment by advisees, recommendations from department heads and deans, statement of advisor’s philosophy and profiles of candidates’ advisees. Special consideration was also given to applicants who participated in first-time freshman advising last summer.

Those receiving $1000 awards are:

College of Applied Life Sciences – Nancy Coghill, Rachel Fournet, Rebecca Gaspard, Dennis Wollard.

College of the Arts – Robert McKinney, Chryl Savoy.

B.I. Moody III College of Business Administration – Ellen Cook, Sandy Scheuermann, William Ferguson, Brooke Hamilton, Alfred Toma, Brandi Guidry, Michael Totaro, Zhiwei Zhu, Gwen Fontenot, Lucy Henke and Anne Keaty.

College of Education – Marlene Beard, Hunter Beasley, Mary Keller, William Rieck, Alice Voorhies, Donna Wadsworth, Elizabeth Webre.

College of Engineering – James Garber, Paul Darby, Ali Ghalambor.

College of Liberal Arts – Tyrone Adams, Michael Maher, Patricia Rockwell, William Swain, Chris Delay, Jack Ferstel, Patrick Bowman.

College of Sciences – Pegge Alciatore, Penny Antley, Arlene Billock, Bruce Felgenhauer, Sherry Krayesky, Patricia Mire, Robert Braun, Nona Etheredge, Timothy Deux, Michelle Meaux, Roger Waggoner.

Those receiving $500 include:

College of the Arts – Geoff Gjertson, Lynn Bustle.

B.I. Moody III College of Business Administration – Anna Maples, Jerilyn Bowie-Hill.

College of Education – David Lynch, Louise Prejean.

College of Engineering – Herbert Hebert, Gongtao Wang.

College of Liberal Arts – Alice Ferguson, John Korbel.