Tactical Navigation

You are here

UL Lafayette graduate lands acclaimed poetry fellowship

Top Stories

New officers, members assume posts on Foundation board

The University of Louisiana at Lafayette Foundation has announced new appointments to its board of trustees.

Read More ➝

University names students to President's and Dean's List

University of Louisiana at Lafayette students have been recognized for stellar academic performance on the Spring 2019 President's and Dean's List.

Read More ➝

Grandmother on track for college degree after years of stops and starts

Linda Perkins Melton, a 68-year-old grandmother, is on track to earn a bachelor’s degree from the University of Louisiana at Lafayette next spring.

Read More ➝

A University of Louisiana at Lafayette alumnus is the recipient of the prestigious Wallace Stegner Fellowship in poetry from Stanford University.

Dr. J. Bruce Fuller, ’15, is one of five poets selected from about 1,700 applicants for the fellowship. He holds a doctorate in English/creative writing from UL Lafayette and a master’s of fine arts from McNeese State University.

Previous Stegner fellows include writers Ernest J. Gaines, Raymond Carver, Ken Kesey and Tobias Wolff.

The two-year fellowship is named after Stegner, a novelist and founder of Stanford’s Creative Writing Program. It carries a $26,000 annual stipend. The Creative Writing Program pays fellows’ tuition and health insurance to enable them to concentrate on writing and attending weekly workshops with faculty. 

Fuller is a past recipient of the William J. Doré Writing Fellowship from McNeese State University and  winner of the 2013 Swan Scythe Press Chapbook Contest.

He is the author of five poetry collections since 2010: “The Dissenter’s Ground,” “Flood,” “Notes to a Husband,” “Lancelot,” and “28 Blackbirds at the End of the World.”

His work has appeared in Louisiana Literature, Pembroke Magazine, Crab Orchard Review, Aldus, Trigger,  Louisiana Review, Swamp Lily Review and others. He is the editor of Yellow Flag Press.